Top 10 reasons I love my old minivan

Okay, so mine's not THIS bad.

As my family and I prepare for our Thanksgiving trip to Virginia this week, I’ve been thinking about what I am grateful for and oddly enough, my dinged-up, weathered-but-still-plugging Honda Odyssey came to mind. Here, David Letterman style, are the Top Ten Reasons I love my old minivan:

10. I am not afraid to park near wayward shopping carts. (What damage could a shopping cart possibly do that my kids haven’t already inflicted?)

9. My kids still think automatic sliding doors are cool.

8. It has as much room as a suburban but nearly double the gas mileage.

7. I don’t stress about keeping it clean anymore – dogs, kids, juice boxes, suckers and crayons are all welcome.

6. It seats seven but has eleven cup-holders.

5. The sticky residues left behind from years of spilled chocolate milks, juice boxes and Sprites are enough to keep my dog occupied for hours.

4. I have to go REALLY fast to get the attention of a state trooper.

3.  It is not equipped with satellite radio therefore Disney channel is only available on AM which doesn’t pick up ten miles outside of Charlotte (Oh, darn).

2. No one ever has or ever will try to steal it.

1. It’s paid for.

I’d love to hear what you adore or hate about your vehicle – were you like me and swore you’d never drive a minivan but now love it just like I do? Or have you remained steadfast in your refusal to drive a mommy-mobile, determined to hang on to at least one last shred of dignity that parenthood hasn’t drained from you?

Sara is the author of The Mommy Chronicles: Conversations Sharing the Comedy and Drama of Pregnancy and New Motherhood (Hay House, 2005) and The Must-Have Mom Manual coming from Ballantine/Random House May 5, 2009.

www.saraandstephanie.com

Leave a Reply

